This article explains the difference between the two options found in the File – Menu of the Builder.
- Mac – Cmd+S
- PC – Ctrl+S
Saving a project is like creating a draft. The save is done within the Manager, but is not sent to the controlled space. When making changes for a project, you can work on the space remotely, and save changes that you are making without affecting the interface that has been installed. Changes made to the space do not appear in the user interface until the project has been published.
When to Save
- If there is a meeting being held in the controlled space while you are programming, use the Save feature. This ensures that no changes are made to the space during the meeting.
- If you are making extensive changes to the UI, saving periodically is good practice to prevent losing your work. Instead of publishing small changes, wait to publish until all changes have been made.
- Mac – Cmd+P
- PC – Ctrl+P
Unlike saving, publishing sends all changes to the user interface. Publishing is not just saved to the Manager, but also updates the user interface. Publishing should be done when all changes are final and ready for use. Publishing to a controlled space adds all changes to the user interface since the last time the Publish feature was used.
When to Publish
- When all changes have been finished, all Gateways have been configured, the UI has been designed and macros are in place, publish the setup to the controlled space.
- When immediate changes are required, like when a meeting is scheduled and something is not working, make the necessary change and publish to the controlled space.