Accreditation is an intensive process that looks at seven areas (called domains):

  1. Recovery Principles, Culture and Climate
  2. Ethical Framework for Service Delivery
  3. Peer Leader Development
  4. Peer Supervisor Development
  5. Governance and Program Oversight
  6. Management Systems
  7. Peer Support Capacity: Core Competencies

CAPRSS wants every program that applies for accreditation to succeed—and for programs to spend the time they need to prepare for accreditation before they apply. CAPRSS requires candidates for accreditation to have a history of at least two years in providing PRSS. Upcoming sections in this guide provide more information about domains and core standards. The CAPRSS website has links to resources that provide more in-depth information about key concepts that are embedded in the standards.

The Accreditation Readiness Self-Assessment Tool is available to help you to determine whether your program is accreditation ready. It focuses on key criteria for each of the accreditation domains and standards and contains multiple choice questions that allow you to assess whether your program meets the criteria.

You are encouraged to explore all of these resources to determine whether your program is already accreditation ready, or whether it needs to spend extra time preparing for core accreditation (step 3) before it applies for candidacy (step 4).

← Step 1: Learn About Accreditation Process | Step 3: Prepare for Core Accreditation →


Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Post your comment on this topic.

Post Comment