Standards are the core of an accreditation process. They can be seen as an external guide to assess the capacity and efficiency of a PRSS program: Organizations and programs that are applying for accreditation will be evaluated on the extent to which they can demonstrate their ability to meet specific standards.

They can also be considered a guide which a recovery community organization or peer program can conduct a self-inventory of how well it works by engaging in a reflective and participatory process. This may, in fact, be their best use, as programs continuously work to offer the best peer recovery support for their communities.

CAPRSS employs a set of rigorous standards that come directly from the recovery community and reflect current practice in peer recovery support.There are 30 core standards that are assessed the initial accreditation process, which are categorized into seven domains, which in turn are organized into four functional areas.

Once an organization has core accreditation, it can apply for accreditation in one or more of the optional domains. There are optional (elective) standards in four performance-related domains: (1) Peer Support Capacity: Recovery Community Centers; (2) Peer Support Capacity: Recovery Coaching; (3) Peer Support Capacity: Training and Technical Assistance; and (4) Furthering the Field.

← Step 7: Receive Accreditation Determination | Core Standards: Summary (v1.1) →


Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Post your comment on this topic.

Post Comment