GPS location sharing is enabled on a per-employee basis. By default GPS sharing will be enabled for all employees, but can be disabled either automatically or through the admin portal.
To disable GPS sharing for an employee uncheck the Use GPS checkbox directly from the employee table. You can also do this from the Employee Edit form.
Note: GPS sharing will automatically be disabled for any employee who does not share 20 consecutive times. This indicates they can’t or won’t share so the system stops asking.
GPS sharing should be enabled if you want to ensure that employees are actually at the job site when they clock in and out. This GPS location information will be attached to the employee’s time entry in the Time Entries section of the portal. If addresses are entered for the job, the system will calculate proximity to the job location and present that proximity information in the time entry. To view your employee’s GPS info, navigate to the Time Entries Entries} section of the portal.
Anytime an employee calls in from their own mobile phone, whether clocking in or clocking out, they will immediately receive a text message asking them to share their location, as shown in the screen shot below.
When the employee clicks on the sharing link, they may be prompted to allow the sharing request, as shown in the first screen shot below. This is a privacy setting of the mobile phone. Please be sure to tell your employees to allow sharing. If sharing is allowed, they will see a map indicating that their location was successfully shared.
If sharing has been disabled on the employee’s phone, follow the instructions below to enable sharing.
For Apple devices, enabling GPS sharing is the same for all phones.
Settings —> Privacy —> Location Services —> Safari Websites
With Android, it varies by device. Google provides a helpful document here.
Note: With Android phones, there is one other scenario we have seen when an employee has explicitly chosen not to share their location.
In that case, where “deny” was chosen, all subsequent requests are automatically blocked.
To clear this in Chrome, the employee must follow these steps.
1. Open Chrome.
2. Click on the 3 dots in the top right corner. This will bring up a menu.
3. Click on “Settings”
4. Click on “Site settings”
5. Click on “Location”
6. Click on the site https://gps.telephonetimesheets.com from the list of blocked sites (it might be the only one in the list)
7. Click “CLEAR & RESET”