The spineSENSE scan is performed by utilizing pressure algometry. To begin, choose one of the four available tests:

  • Cervical
  • Upper Thoracic
  • Lower Thoracic
  • Lumbosacral

After you choose you region:

  • Identify the painful spinal segments to be tested, noting the spinal region.
  • Multiple regions can be tested in one examination session.
  • Choose a painless segment in the chosen region of the spine for comparison testing.
  • You will be prompted to choose a side to be examined and a spinal level. The baseline scan should have both Right and Left sided pressure noted.
  • Have the patient seated or prone and locate the spineSENSE within a comfortable distance.
  • Advise them that an instrument will be pressed onto a point on the spine and they are to alert the examiner immediately when the pressure becomes painful. They are not meant to try and prove their ability to sustain pain. They are to honestly alert the examiner when “the pressure hurts” and to command the examiner to “stop”.
  • The trigger is pulled when the Stop command is spoken. This registers the pressure that is tolerated.
  • The examiner is then prompted to pressure test the other side of the spine to complete the baseline results.
  • Next, the affected spinal segment is similarly tested to determine the limited amount of pressure that can be tolerated due to inflammation and active subluxation.
  • The results of the reported painful segment are compared to the tolerance level of the non-painful region and published in the spineSENSE scan view which can be accessed at the end of the scan.